Supporto Compact Disc
Artista Guru
Etichetta Virgin Records Us
Anno 1993
Amazon Link Buy from
Titolo Length
01 Introduction 1:20
02 Loungin' (feat. Donald Byrd) 4:39
03 When You're Near (feat. N'dea Davenport) 4:03
04 Transit Ride (feat. Branford Marsalis) 3:58
05 No Time to Play (feat. Ronny Jordan) 4:54
06 Down the Backstreets (feat. Lonnie Liston Smith) 4:47
07 Respectful Dedications 0:54
08 Take a Look (at Yourself) (feat. Roy Ayers) 3:59
09 Trust Me (feat. N'dea Davenport) 4:27
10 Slicker Than Most 2:37
11 Le Bien, Le Mal (feat. MC Solaar) 3:22
12 Sights in the City (feat. Courtney Pine and Carleen Anderson) 5:10
Totale: 44:10
Parole chiave Hip Hop

After rhyming over Premier's doctored jazz beats in Gang Starr, Guru decided to take it to the next level, employing the talents of actual jazz musicians to create the grooves over which he would flow. Coming off like a jazzier extension of the Brand New Heavies' Heavy Rhyme Experience: Vol. 1, Jazzmatazz, Vol. 1 brought together a diverse group of jazz cats both old-school and new, including Roy Ayers, Donald Byrd, Lonnie Liston Smith, Ronny Jordan, and Courtney Pine. Guru even enlisted the serene pipes of Carleen Anderson and N'Dea Davenport and acted as something of an international hip-hop ambassador when he flipped "Le Bien, Le Mal" with French mic pro MC Solaar. From the Blue Note-style cover art to the hepcat spoken-word intro, this package is pure hip-hop jazz music. Jazz purists may wish to note that the grooves lean heavily toward the funkier 1970s era of jazz, and hardcore hip-hop heads my be turned off by the mellower musical stance. But then again, this is neither pure jazz nor hardcore hip-hop but rather an extension of the two. --Spence Abbott